Gondor vs Mordor 2 logo
Home Forum Wiki Map Downloads
Become part of the community!
 
 
User Info
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
10 August 2022, 04:09

Login with username, password and session length

Search:     Advanced search
News Box
Welcome to (Gondor vs Mordor).

Key Stats
13053 Posts in 1332 Topics by 1245 Members
Latest Member: azihohaloyen
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Gondor vs Mordor  |  Gondor vs Mordor 1  |  GvM1 Players Forum  |  windows 7?
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: windows 7?  (Read 4199 times)
Cobeea
Guest
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: 04 January 2010, 23:29 »

I was thinking of updating to windows 7, and I'm wondering if anyone knows of any issues between it and NWN before I make the leap.  I don't get to play as often anymore but also can't fathom never being able to play.  Anyone know if they are compatible?

Thanks ahead of time for input.
Logged
ollebroc
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Plays: Both Factions
Posts: 913



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 05 January 2010, 00:23 »

I just got my free Windows 7 upgrade today after nearly 2 months wait for my laptop.  cussing

The only issue mentioned on the NWN forums is upgrading video and sound drivers. Run NWN under XP SP3 compatibilty. Should work fine.  offtheair
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
ollebroc
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Plays: Both Factions
Posts: 913



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 06 January 2010, 02:17 »

After updating the drivers, playing NWN is not a problem.  binkybaby

Much less annoying then Vista.  disgust
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
Cobeea
Guest
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 06 January 2010, 05:21 »

Cool.. that was all I could find also.  I feel better though having heard from someone here thanks.
Logged
Turril
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 297


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 06 January 2010, 15:26 »

lol how did you get a free upgrade? god knows i want out of vista Cheesy
Logged
ollebroc
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Plays: Both Factions
Posts: 913



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 06 January 2010, 16:06 »

At least with Tigerdirect, many of the PCs being sold offer a free upgrade. It was thier way of getting rid of many of the old stuff.  Afro
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
charliebuckett
Poster
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 189


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: 08 January 2010, 16:34 »

Window 7 is better but its still not blowing me away.
Logged
Nobutadas
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 269


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: 01 December 2010, 02:00 »

Been trying to play NWN off of windows 7.  I can load it up, log into the server, and play, however.... there is one problem.  My window is shifted a little bit down and to the right so the top and left side of the screen is black and the bottom and the right sides of the screen is cut off.  I have no idea how to fix this.  I have updated my graphics card and I am running this under xp service pack 3 compatibility.  Any suggestions?
Logged

ollebroc
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Plays: Both Factions
Posts: 913



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: 01 December 2010, 02:12 »

You have to change the screen settings to the proper size. Try running the configure at the NWN main menu or manually change the video settings in game.
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
Redaurora
Poster
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 119


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: 01 December 2010, 11:10 »

Yeah, the only updates problematic to date are the newest Nvidia cards, which at the moment don't have any drivers that support the version of OpenGL that nwn uses properly.

Hopefully everyone petitioning them will finally get them to add some support.

I'm not certain of the ATI cards.


(This is the reason I'm not playing, I've 460 GTX's in SLI, cloaks, robes, ranged weapons, and some lightning effects and im sure a couple of other things being on screen causes fps to drop from normal to a max of about 18, with the graphics in general being unstable).
Logged
tonoplast
Poster
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: 01 December 2010, 15:12 »

18 fps is what i get on a good day... Sad
Logged
Nobutadas
GvM1 Admin
Poster
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 269


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: 01 December 2010, 18:37 »

Finally got this to work after a while of playing around with it.  After installing the game, I just set it to run compatibility mode for Windows XP (SP 3).  I made sure I ran program as administrator.  And to fix the screen problem, I had to check Disable Visual themes and Disable desktop composition.

Thank you all for your help.
Logged

Redaurora
Poster
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 119


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: 02 December 2010, 09:51 »

18 fps is what i get on a good day... Sad

...causes fps to drop from normal to a max of about 18, with the graphics in general being unstable).


 Cry
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Theme by Nesianstyles | Buttons by Andrea